Symposium Resources

Session Schedule Map

The PTK Symposium schedule is based on the EST zone. All sessions will be live with a mix of live and pre-recorded presentations. To view the description,  presenters’ names, bios, and other details, locate the session on the Breakout Sessions page. Each session will have its own zoom link which registered participants will receive via email.

Thursday, February 24, 2022

Session Time Session Title
1:00-1:15 pm Introductory Remarks
Lee Friedman, Chair of Organizing Committee and Senior Lecturer, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
1:15-1:45 pm Opening Remarks
Jennifer King Rice, Senior Vice President and Provost
Concurrent Session 1
2:00-2:50 pm Research for Impact and Transition
Terrapin Strong – Creating an Inclusive Campus Environment
What’s Next for PTK?
Keynote Address
3:00-3:50 pm John King, Professor of the Practice

Friday, February 25, 2022

Session Time Session Title
9:45-10:00 am Welcoming Remarks
Concurrent Session 1
10:00-10:50 am Career Advancement: Thinking Strategically and Planning Ahead
International Programing
Lessons Learned from Anti-racist Teaching
Concurrent Session 2
11:00-11:50 am Best Practices for AEP Policy Development
Building Anti-Racist Dialog Skills
Finding Funding Opportunities
12:00-1:00 pm Lunch
Concurrent Session 3
1:00-1:50 pm DEI Statements: What are They and How do you Write One?
Navigating PTK Contracts
2:00-2:15 pm Closing Remarks

Zoom Backgrounds

Working from home at the kitchen table? Hide your surroundings with a Symposium-themed zoom background. Check them out in this Google Drive folder.

Code of Conduct

The PTK Symposium conference benefits from a diverse, dynamic, and welcoming community.  We trust that attendees will behave towards each other in a way that reflects the view widely shared by this community, that diversity and civility are strengths to be celebrated and fostered.

Furthermore, we believe that the Symposium will be more productive and enjoyable for everyone if a professional atmosphere prevails, meaning that all attendees may expect to

  • be treated with courtesy, dignity and respect;
  • be free from any form of discrimination, victimization, harassment or bullying;
  • enjoy an environment free from unwelcome behaviour, inappropriate language and unsuitable imagery.

If problems covered by this code of conduct arise, please contact Lee Friedman directly, or send an email to

Symposium Sponsors

Thanks to all our sponsors:

  • The Office of Faculty Affairs
  • A. James Clark School of Engineering
  • College of Arts and Humanities
  • College of Agriculture and Natural Resources
  • School of Public Health
  • College of Behavioral and Social Sciences
  • College of Information Studies
  • Robert H. Smith School of Business
  • College of Education
  • College of Computer, Mathematical, and Natural Sciences
  • Philip Merrill College of Journalism
  • School of Public Policy
  • School of Architectural Planning and Preservation

Organizing Committee

  • Lee Friedman, Chair
  • Progyan Basu
  • Andrea Brown
  • Alexandra Calloway
  • Diganta Das
  • Protiti Dastidar
  • Alka Gandhi
  • Paul Goeringer
  • Ursula Gorham
  • Joanne Klossner
  • Elizabeth Lathrop
  • Mengxue Li
  • Galina Madjaroff
  • Juan Pablo Martinez
  • Frank Modica
  • Sarah Moore
  • Isaac Moradi
  • Bidemi Oladiran
  • Marc Pound
  • Brit Saksvig
  • Kathy Sharp
  • Steve Sin
  • Catherine Spirito
  • Cathy Stephens
  • Wendy Stickle
  • Kaci Thompson
  • Eliza Thompson
  • Anil Zenginoglu
  • Jo Zimmerman
  • Heidi Bulich
  • Michele Frazier